RSS

My hobby – playing skittles

10 Oct

Skittles is a sport similar to bowling. You make three steps along a straight line, at the same time you move your arm next to your body in front of you, behind you and again in front of you. Then you send the ball on its way and hope that all 9 pins fall. 🙂

About my career:

I started playing skittles at the age of ten. My dad has been my coach since 2009. I practice twice a week 120 bowls. That’s hard. After practicing for one year I started playing in a team against other teams. In the first season we were 5th of 6, but in the second season we were number one. 🙂 Last season we were first again, now I’m in the 4th season and we are first, but the season is long…

I’m in the national team of Thuringia. I’ve played there since 2011. In the team I have to do: skipping, running 1600 meters and, of course, playing skittles.

My personal high scores:

100 bowls: 417

120 bowls: 513

Skipping: 530 in three minutes

1600 m run:  5 minutes and 40 seconds

By Vincent – Germany

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 10, 2012 in Germany, Hobbies

 

3 responses to “My hobby – playing skittles

  1. Marie-France

    October 10, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    Thanks for your post, Vincent. Now I have a better idea what playing skittles is like. You train hard to be in the lead. Hats off 🙂

     
  2. MrsU

    October 10, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    Are skipping and running 1600m part of your competitions too?

     
  3. Vincent from Germany

    October 15, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    You’re welcome.
    Yes, of course, skipping and running are part of my competitions – for the Thuringian team.

     

Leave a Reply

 
