RSS

St. Nikolaus’ Day

16 Dec

 St. Nicholas Day is celebrated on the 6th December in honour of  Saint Nicholas, the Bishop of Myra. Nikolaus It is a great day for Children.

On the evening of 5th December they polish their shoes and put them close to the door. Over night St.Nicholas brings sweets and little presents and puts them into the shining shoes.

On the morning of  6th December I went to my boots and saw a nice chocolate Nicholas. 🙂 I was so happy. At school I  asked the other students what they had got. You have to know that only nice kids get presents by St.Nicholas 😉

After school I went to my cousin, she gave me a fantastic bowl with sweets. My brother took the bowl and we went to my grandparents’. I wished my grandparents a nice Saint Nicholas day and I got a bit of money. I was so happy and grateful to them.

After that,  my family and I went to  church.

In the evening we  celebrated  the day with a little party. It was really fun.

by Philipp

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 16, 2012 in Family, Festivals, Germany

 

One response to “St. Nikolaus’ Day

  1. Marie-France

    December 18, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    Hi Philipp. Do you mean you get presents twice in December? Interesting to be a nice, well-behaved kid then 😉
    By the way: we also have St Nicholas ‘s Day in the east of France, next to the German border 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
