RSS

Sweet Easter

28 Mar

Some Easter traditions are common across Europe, but it’s curious to see what local features they get in the different countries. Our typical Easter dessert has the shape of a dove, “colomba” in Italian, which symbolizes peace (see one of the recipes):

???????????????????????????????

Other cakes have the shape of a plait, somehow similar to the German  Osterkranz:
???????????????????????????????Then our kids’ favourites are chocolate eggs, of course, of all sizes.
Here is one of the biggest:??????????????????????
And here is one made with the same chocolate as that of           ??????????????????????
“Baci” (it means “kisses”), famous Italian chocolates,
here found together with the gift inside the egg:

What’s your favourite Easter sweet 😉 ?

 

 

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2013 in food, Italy, Traditions

 

11 responses to “Sweet Easter

  1. MrsU

    March 29, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    You are right, Giovanna. Lots of our traditions are similar…with a bit of local touch. 😉 I have decided to use your Easter dove recipe today, creating an Italian-style Easter Bread (similar to Osterzopf) 😉

     
  2. Marie-France

    March 29, 2013 at 5:52 pm

    I like your “colomba” cake and its symbol, even if the “colombe” ( in French) is a fierce bird 🙂 We like Easter nests in France. They are rich, fattening, very sweet and kids love them of course: http://www.marmiton.org/recette-paques/paques_1.aspx

    Happy Easter team Italy 🙂

     
  3. MrsU

    March 29, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    Your cake is delicious, Giovanna. 🙂 I tried to shape it like an Easter bunny, but it looks more like a heart 😉

     
  4. Sonia from Italy

    March 30, 2013 at 11:03 am

    I love Easter sweet! My favourite is “colomba” but I like eating chocolate eggs too! 😉

     
  5. Giovanna

    April 1, 2013 at 7:25 am

    Hello! How was your Easter Day then? We really needed all our cakes to sweeten the weather … we had a very short sunny period in the early afternoon, just to remind us what it’s like … Today it’s “Pasquetta” here, the name we give to the day after Easter, still waiting for the weather to clear … what about in the other teams’ countries?
    @ MrsU: doves, bunnies, hearts … whatever the shape it’s so feast-inviting, isn’t it? 😉
    @ Marie-France: is your “colombe” similar to a crow then? A false friend between the two latin languages?
    @ Sonia: what gifts did you find in your Easter eggs?

     
  6. Elisa from Italy

    April 1, 2013 at 10:08 am

    I like all types of Easter sweets. I really like chocolate eggs but only those made with milk chocolate not dark chocolate. Sometimes I also eat “colomba” but not very often.

     
  7. Carlo from Italy

    April 1, 2013 at 8:45 pm

    mmm… I wish I had that giant chocolate egg, I like Easter eggs much more than “colomba”. The Kinder chocolate eggs are the best!

     
  8. Marco from Italy

    April 2, 2013 at 1:05 pm

    My favourite sweet is chocolate eggs because I love chocolate. I eat all types of chocolate especially the white one. I suggest the chocolate made with the same chocolate as that of “Galak”. It’s delicious. I also like chocolate eggs where I can find fantastic gifts.

     
  9. Chiara from Italy

    April 2, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    My favorite Easter sweet is “colomba.” I really like the one with almonds, but also with chocolate or cream: they are all good! Moreover at Easter my sisters and I receive some eggs of dark chocolate, milk chocolate or even of white chocolate. Mmmh… they are all good!! 😉

     
  10. Marta from Italy

    April 8, 2013 at 12:05 pm

    Hi! My favourite Easter sweet is the chocolate of chocolate eggs. I agree with Carlo because I think that the Kinder chocolate is the best 🙂 however, I also love the “colomba” 🙂 :this year I ate a lot of it because my mum bought it many times…

     
  11. Merle Germany

    April 17, 2013 at 6:44 pm

    wow, a big Easteregg! Ok, my favorite Eastersweets are: all 😉

     

Leave a Reply

