RSS

Let’s go to California with our local Mamas and Papas ;-)

05 Jun

Not to San Francisco like Anna in team Germany but to L.A πŸ˜‰ Dreaming, of course πŸ˜‰

Team France and its choir πŸ˜‰

All the leaves are brown
(All the leaves are brown)
And the sky is grey.
(And the sky is grey).
I’ve been for a walk
(I’ve been for a walk)
On a winter’s day.
(On a winter’s day).

I’d be safe and warm
(I’d be safe and warm)
if I was in L.A.
(If I was in L.A.)
California dreamin’
(California dreamin’) on such a winter’s day.

Stopped in to a church I passed along the way.
Well I got down on my knees
(got down on my knees)
And I pretend to pray.
(I pretend to pray).
You know the preacher likes the cold.
(preacher likes the cold).
He knows I’m gonna stay.
(knows I’m gonna stay).
California dreamin’
(California dreamin’) on such a winter’s day.

(Bridge)

All the leaves are brown
(All the leaves are brown)
And the sky is grey.
(And the sky is grey).
I’ve been for a walk
(I’ve been for a walk)
On a winter’s day.
(On a winter’s day).

If I didn’t tell her
(If I didn’t tell her)
I could leave today.
(I could leave today).
California dreamin’ (California dreamin’)on such a winter’s day,
California dreamin’ on such a winter’s day,
California dreamin’ on such a winter’s day.

 
41 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2013 in France, school, Songs

 

41 responses to “Let’s go to California with our local Mamas and Papas ;-)

  1. Marie-France

    June 5, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    @ to the choir: this song kids is part of my teenage years πŸ˜‰ You are making your English teacher very nostalgic and so proud of you πŸ˜‰ Thanks a lot πŸ˜‰

     
  2. Elsa 5A France

    June 5, 2013 at 5:44 pm

    It’s very good ! I love this song ❀

     
  3. Hugo 5eA France

    June 5, 2013 at 5:49 pm

    WOW!!! It’s wonderfull!!! ;-]

     
  4. Jule.Germany

    June 5, 2013 at 6:23 pm

    Your choir is amazing! :))

     
  5. Aurore5eAFrance

    June 5, 2013 at 6:51 pm

    I love it ! It’s my favourite song ! It’s wonderful!!!

     
  6. MrsU

    June 5, 2013 at 7:57 pm

    Fantastic! πŸ™‚ Well, it looks as if you were sending the English teachers on a trip down memory lane πŸ™‚ but, unlike Mrs Munar, this song doesn’t remind me of my teenage years πŸ˜‰ …and I was just once singing it … crossing Golden Gate Bridge πŸ˜€ As I don’t sing as well as you do I had to make sure there weren’t any people near me πŸ˜‰

     
  7. Mary Lou

    June 6, 2013 at 1:03 am

    Great song…Great singing. I was in California just three weeks ago. I did not hear any young people singing.as good as your group. Way to go California dreamers! Perhaps you would like to come to our dance studio and sing. Hugs…From one of your English teacher’s biggest fans-ML in SD

     
  8. Dorine-France 6D

    June 6, 2013 at 6:19 am

    It’s perfect πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰

     
  9. Teva 6eD-France

    June 6, 2013 at 11:04 am

    WOW ! It’s amazing !

     
  10. Hélène 5C !!!!

    June 6, 2013 at 11:14 am

    it’s a very good song !! I love it !!! πŸ™‚

     
  11. Camille 5c France

    June 6, 2013 at 11:14 am

    It’s good work for our choir and I love this song ❀

     
  12. Killian Police 5Β°C

    June 6, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    it’s just beautiful and harmonious I love it !!! πŸ˜‰

     
  13. Hugo France 6B

    June 6, 2013 at 3:26 pm

    It’s very nice of you . Thanks for your invitation, Mrs M.L of South Dakota, USA. Our teacher told us what the two letters SD were πŸ˜‰

     
  14. yoann6dfrance

    June 6, 2013 at 3:30 pm

    i love this music

     
  15. Martin-France 6eB

    June 6, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    Total success: congrats πŸ™‚

     
  16. manuella 5d

    June 6, 2013 at 3:42 pm

    Hello mrs Munar : was your friend serious about her invitation?

     
  17. axelle France6eB

    June 6, 2013 at 3:45 pm

    I love this song πŸ™‚

     
  18. Simon 6ed france

    June 6, 2013 at 3:47 pm

    super! you really sing very well, congratulations to all and good luck

     
  19. Marie-France

    June 6, 2013 at 3:52 pm

    @ Manuella: Yes, I think so but we need so much money πŸ˜‰

     
  20. Victor A - FRANCE

    June 6, 2013 at 3:59 pm

    Wow!!!
    I have already learned song this song in year 6!!
    It’ a super song!
    It is a very nice song!!

     
  21. HELOISE 6 eD - FRANCE

    June 6, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    I love this song!!!
    It ‘s a very pretty song by the Mamas and the Papas, even the local ones πŸ˜‰

     
  22. Julie-France 6D

    June 6, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    I was already taught this song in primary school! πŸ™‚ LOVELY πŸ™‚

     
  23. noemie 5Dfrance

    June 6, 2013 at 4:52 pm

    I love this song !!! I LOVE IT!!! πŸ™‚

     
  24. noemie 5C france

    June 6, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    I love this song !! It’s beautiful

     
  25. manuella 5d

    June 6, 2013 at 5:43 pm

    Oh my god!!!!!!!!!it’s very very very cooooooooooollllllllll!!!! Going to the USA has been my dream since I was Little so I hope that dream will come true ;)Thank you for your reply Ma’am.

     
  26. Alison 5A France

    June 6, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    I love this music πŸ˜‰

     
  27. Claire5A France

    June 6, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    It’s good music and good singers πŸ˜‰

     
  28. mrsc14

    June 6, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    One of my favourites too. Well done to all, you sound great πŸ™‚

     
  29. Violette 5C France

    June 7, 2013 at 2:44 pm

    I love it! It’s a beautiful song!!

     
  30. Laura 5C France

    June 8, 2013 at 7:59 am

    it’s beautiful. I love it so much πŸ™‚

     
  31. Bleuenn 5c France

    June 8, 2013 at 8:28 am

    I love California dreamin’ ! πŸ˜‰

     
  32. ChloΓ© 5C

    June 8, 2013 at 8:55 am

    I love it. It’s so beautiful! πŸ˜€

     
  33. Georg Germany

    June 8, 2013 at 11:05 am

    Do you know that this song is also known as “Anneliese Braun” in Germany? πŸ˜€ just one example of ‘misheard lyrics’ πŸ˜‰

     
  34. Marie-France

    June 8, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    @ Georg: Are you talking about malapropism? What does the song in German say?

     
  35. MrsU

    June 8, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    That is what Georg was talking about. πŸ˜€ Instead of “all the leaves are brown” some people understand “Anneliese Braun” πŸ˜‰ By the way, her best friend is “Agathe Bauer” (I’ve got the power) πŸ˜€
    Once you pay attention to those ‘mondegreens’ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mondegreen , you’ll have problems understanding the correct lyrics πŸ˜‰ So be careful, when checking out respective ‘misheard lyrics’ videos on youtube πŸ˜‰

     
  36. Enora 5C France

    June 9, 2013 at 9:07 am

    I love it πŸ™‚ like almost 100% of people

     
  37. Titouan 5eme C

    June 9, 2013 at 4:49 pm

    It’s great ! πŸ˜‰ I hope you will go to the STATES !!!!!! πŸ˜€

     
  38. Anna Germany

    June 9, 2013 at 5:39 pm

    Great song, great singers. You make me dream of California …. πŸ™‚

     
  39. jessica 5D France

    June 9, 2013 at 5:40 pm

    I love this song like everybody!!! πŸ™‚

     
  40. Ines 5C France

    June 9, 2013 at 7:35 pm

    It’s good work for our choir and a beautiful song ! πŸ™‚

     
  41. Merle Germany

    June 10, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    This Song is so great!!!!!!!!!
    I like it πŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

